Soul Secret started as a cover band in 2004 but as the years passed they started thinking about writing some original material. Thus they wrote a song called First Creature in 2006. The band decided to play live this song and after a good feedback they continued the writing process giving birth to an entire album: Flowing Portraits. In 2007 the band decided to record the material at Orange Bug Studios. Just before entering the studios to record vocals, Michele Serpico had colitis and was unable to sing for a long time. In the studios the band got in touch with Mark Basile (DGM), who accepted to sing all the album as a guest, and with Davide Guidone. After listening the album he decided to join the project, becoming the band’s manager. With him on board, the band was able to sign in 2008 under the american label ProgRock Records. This first album’s lineup featured Antonio Mocerino (drums) and Luca Di Gennaro (keyboards). In 2009 Michele Serpico felt better and he was able to sing in a gig during the Baltic Prog Fest in July but after that great experience he decided to leave Soul Secret definitively to let them search a stable singer, on stage and in studio.

The band then started writing new material and planned to record drums at Musa Muta Studio during February 2010. The band contacted Arno Menses (Subsignal, ex-Sieges Even) who accepted to sing on their critically-acclaimed suite Aftermath as a guest. Later they met Claudio Casaburi (bass). With him the material written until that was radically changed, in order to have an album composed by the brand new Soul Secret lineup. The band then recorded bass, guitars and keyboards in their own studios. The album, later called Closer To Daylight, was mixed and mastered by Markus Teske. In 2013 the band decided to change singer and welcomed Lino Di Pietrantonio (vocals) onboard to write and record the third album and perform live. The band’s third album, titled and their first concept, was published on April 2015. 

Their next album, another original concept called BABEL, was released on July 28th 2017and previewed at Night Of The Prog on July 14th 2017, with the band opening the show to Mike Portnoy’s Shattered Fortress (also featuring members of Haken and Neal Morse band).

The band announced in 2018 Francesco Cavezza (guitars) as the new guitar player and the band started writing new material. The dutch label Layered Reality Productions signed the band and planned to publish the band’s fifth album around May 2020. After the Covid-19 spread all around the world, the band decided to delay the album release and to publish a single written during the quarantine called Shine Again exclusively on Bandcamp with all proceeds donated to charity.

The band fifth album BLUE LIGHT CAGE has been released worldwide on October 23, 2020 featuring Derek Sherinian and Marek Arnold.